Scroll to top button

Systems Security Certified Practitioner

ISBN : 9781616912055

Gain hands-on expertise in (ISC)² SSCP exam with Systems Security Certified Practitioner Study Guide. This course covers all the domains of (ISC)² SSCP exam and includes topics such as access controls; security operations and administration; risk identification, monitoring and analysis; cryptography; network and communications security; and so on.

The SSCP exam is an entry-level security exam sponsored by International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium, Inc., or (ISC)². It is considered by many to be a stepping stone on the path of earning the (ISC)² Certified Information Systems Security Practitioner (CISSP). (ISC)² describes the person with the SSCP certification as the person doing the hands-on work or the enforcer that everyone is going to for answers. The exam is still focused on understanding key security concepts.

Glossary of terms
Pre Assessment Questions
Post Assessment Questions
Exam related FAQs
What is the exam registration fee? USD 250
Where do I take the exam? The (ISC)² exam is administered by Pearson VUE at testing centers worldwide. Click here to find a testing center near you.
What is the format of the exam? Multiple choice questions
What are the pre-requisites of the exam?

(ISC)² has the following pre-requisites for SSCP certification:

  • Candidates have a minimum of one year of cumulative information systems security-related work experience in one or more of the seven domains of the SSCP.
  • If you do not have the required experience, you may still sit for the exam and become an Associate of (ISC)² for SSCP until you have gained the required experience.

For the information of seven domain click here.

How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 125 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 180 minutes
What is the passing score? 700

(on a scale of 0-1000)

What is the exam's retake policy? Test takers who do not pass the examination the first time will be able to retest after 30 days. Test takers that fail a second time will need to wait 90 days prior to sitting for the examination again. In the unfortunate event that a candidate fails a third time, the next available time to sit for the examination will be 180 days after the most recent exam attempt. Candidates are eligible to sit for (ISC)² examinations a maximum of 3 times within a calendar year.
What is the validity of the certification? (ISC)² SSCP expires three years from date of issue, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification. Click here for more information.
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the SSCP, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?

An (ISC)² 's SSCP Certified Professional has several career opportunities open up to them, including:

  • Security Analyst
  • Systems Engineer
  • Security Administrator
  • Database Administrator
  • Systems/Network Analyst
  • Network Security Engineer
  • Security Consultant/Specialist
  • Systems/Network Administrator
  • Implement Logical Access Controls in Terms of Subjects
  • Implement Logical Access Controls in Terms of Objects
  • Implement Authentication Mechanisms
  • Apply Access Control Concepts
  • Manage Internetwork Trust Architectures
  • Implement identity management
  • Understand basic security concepts related to cloud computing
  • Adhere to Code of Ethics
  • Perform Security Administrative Duties
  • Perform Change Management Duties
  • Provide security evaluation and assistance to the organization
  • Participate in Security Awareness Education
  • Assess the information communication technology infrastructure using appropriate tools
  • Understand concepts of endpoint device security
  • Comply with data management policies
  • Understand security concepts
  • Maintain Effective Monitoring Systems
  • Analyze Monitoring Results
  • Understand Risk Management Process
  • Perform Security Assessment Activities
  • Participate in incident handling analysis
  • Understand and Support Business Continuity Plan (BCP) and Disaster Recovery Plan (DRP)
  • Understand basic concepts of Cryptography
  • Understand Requirements for Cryptography
  • Support Certificate and Key Management
  • Understand the use of Secure Protocols
  • Understand Security issues related to Networks
  • Understand Telecommunications
  • Understand Remote Access
  • Understand Firewalls and Proxies
  • Understand Wireless and Cellular Technologies
  • Identify Malicious Code
  • Implement Malicious Code Countermeasures
  • Identify Malicious Activity
  • Implement Malicious Activity Countermeasures